keepmyhairblue

If you want to keep your blue hair, you're going to have to be a lot more hardcore than that.

Pizza, PLEASE. (Food item of the week #1)

Image

There are few moments on this earth more grueling than the moment you crave pizza… and you’re trying not to eat cheese.

You start scouring the internet for decent vegan pizza options, but find the prices a little ridiculous, and the hassle of jumping into your car and braving 4:00pm traffic is… well, a hassle (and besides, you’re so dang comfortable in your pajamas). Even the grocery store five minutes away doesn’t have pre-made yet homemade pizza dough like Wegmans does. (A moment of silence for all the people missing out on the wonders that is Wegmans.)

So what’s a person in such a lazy state to do?

That’s right… make your own damn pizza.

I stumbled across this recipe of vegan pizza dough, and was thrilled at how easy it was to make. (I know it says “easy” right in the title, but come on, how often is that true?) Due to the intensity of the craving, I did the quick version of the dough, and mixed it by hand.

The ingredients are below, but please visit Mattie’s post for the directions!:

¾ cup + 3 Tablespoons warm water
½ teaspoon active dry yeast

2 cups bread flour
¼ cup whole wheat flour (*You can also use All Purpose!)
1 teaspoon salt

2 Tablespoons olive oil

– For the toppings I threw onions, red and orange peppers, and brussel sprouts into a pan and sauteed them with olive oil, pepper, oregano, a little salt, garlic powder, and chili powder.

Notes:

– I didn’t have any whole wheat flour on hand, so I used All Purpose. It worked wonderfully!

– I always coat my dough after I’ve stretched it out with a brushing of olive oil and minced garlic before putting any other toppings on it (including the sauce!). It could just be the half Italian in me wanting to put garlic on EVERYTHING, but I also feel like it adds a little… something to the crust.

– My oven has two settings: Hell and Mordor. To compensate, I turned it down to 475 degrees and cut the cooking time by about five to eight minutes. Keep an eye on that dough!

-For the sauce, I used Simple Truth Organic Tomato Basil Sauce. As it’s name suggests, it’s simple, organic, and was totally on sale at Ralph’s. Can’t beat that! By all means, if you have the time make your own sauce, but if you’re looking for something quick and easy, this is the way to go.

Verdict:

This pizza dough is perfect! Vegan or not, this is a great recipe to have in your back pocket (or bookmarks). If you don’t have the means of making a pizza, it also doubles as a great focaccia bread (crispy and thin just like my great aunt makes it).  I have yet to close the tab on my browser because I just want to keep making it over and over again.

I am definitely going to have to fool around with the toppings, but for now I am just happy to have some pizza in my mouth that doesn’t make me cry out for New York and, of course, cheese.

One comment on “Pizza, PLEASE. (Food item of the week #1)

  1. Jeff Peters
    February 20, 2013

    I love making vegan pizza! I think I’ve perfected whole wheat pizza dough now. I make a batch of like 10 balls and then freeze them for pizza anytime.

    And I just read this recipe for cauliflower pizza dough I have to try: http://modernhippiecooks.wordpress.com/2013/02/17/cauliflower-crust-pizza-recipegluten-free-vegan/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , .
