keepmyhairblue

If you want to keep your blue hair, you're going to have to be a lot more hardcore than that.

Chocolate Cupcakes with Chai Tea Buttercream Frosting (And yes, it’s vegan too!)

Image

Confession time: I came across this recipe years ago, made it once, loved it, and then never touched it again.

But today my boss looked at me and said: “Hey, do you want to make a vegan dessert for the clients today? I bought you all that blasted Earth Balance, so you’d better use it.”
Inspired (and a bit terrified), one minute later I was tying a pink apron about my waist and getting to work with this recipe in my hands.

You’ll Need:

Cupcakes:

1 cup soy milk

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

1/3 cup canola oil

3/4 cup sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup all purpose flour

1/3 cup cocoa (I used a bit more)

1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

Frosting:

1 stick earth balance buttery spread (1/2 cup)

about 3-4 cups powdered sugar

2 chai teabags

2 T boiling water

2 T soy milk

1/4 tsp cinnamon

For the directions, please go to Eat, Live, Run!

Notes:

Pay attention to the timing of everything- the key to vegan cake, I’m finding out, is to allow the ingredients to have the proper time to settle, mix, and get to know one another.

– I tend to find that vegan chocolate cake lacks a bit of… well, chocolatey-ness. So I added a bit more cocoa powder… maybe about an eighth of a cup more?

– If you don’t have soy milk, almond milk works just as well!

Verdict:

– Yum.

– Yum.

– Yum.

– No, but seriously.

– The cake is perfect. Unlike a lot of vegan cakes where the texture is just… off, this one is light, moist, and delicious.

– The frosting was giving me issues with the stiffness of it all. I’m not sure if you should beat it for so long. But, in the recipe’s defense, I didn’t add as much powdered sugar as it called for. I feared if I added any more than I did, the spicy flavor chai tea is known for would be completely drowned by the powdered sugar. In return, my frosting was less than perky and a bit of a mess. But still… so damn delicious.

– It is said that a vegan treat never reveals her secrets. That said, we only told a few souls at work about the vegan part of the chocolate cupcake, and the rest were happily fooled. The clients seemed to love them, and my one vegan co-worker, who usually can’t eat a thing we bake, was absolutely thrilled. That’s pretty awesome, if you ask me.

– P.S. (They’re even better after they’ve sat for a few hours!)

One comment on “Chocolate Cupcakes with Chai Tea Buttercream Frosting (And yes, it’s vegan too!)

  1. Muffin
    March 2, 2013

    So… when I get to Cali, we’re making these. K?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
