keepmyhairblue

If you want to keep your blue hair, you're going to have to be a lot more hardcore than that.

Spiked Spagetti

Can I get something off my chest? I am in love with Nadia G. Like, head over heels, over the moon, pure Italian fueled fire love. When I catch Bitchin’ Kitchen on the Cooking Channel my night instantly turns around. A man with a thin mustache appears, paddling a gondola and singing That’s AmoréThat serious.

I knew I had to eventually use this declaration of blue hairdom for the greater good of stiletto heels, breakup meals, and Italian phrases, so I poured over the recipes on the Bitchin’ Kitchen website until I eventually stumbled across a pasta dish that had vodka in it.

Wait. What.

Seriously, a savory dish that forces (cough) me to buy vodka? Sign me up!

photo-5

You’ll Need:

Spaghetti

Extra virgin olive oil

Onion, chopped

Crushed red pepper flakes

Garlic clove, minced

Vgetable bouillon cube

Vodka (they like Van Gough, I like Skyy. Potato, potato.)

San Marzano tomatoes, crushed and undrained (Or a plain marinara sauce)

Salt

Freshly cracked pepper

Cream (optional)

Fresh basil

Grated Parmesan

As usual, go to the website for the directions (extra wit included!)

Notes:

– If you don’t have vegetable bullion, put a bit of vegetable stock and herbs such as basil, oregano, black pepper and cilantro instead.

– As part of my cut dairy as much as possible lifestyle , I left the cream out and just placed the blended sauce into the saute pan so I could mix the pasta in. So amazing! I personally think you can do it with or without the cream.

– I also didn’t have a can of tomatoes on hand, but there was a handy-dandy jar of marinara sauce in my fridge, so I used that instead.

– On request of my roommate, I added about a tablespoon of vodka to the pasta after I had mixed it about. The boozier, the better, ya?

Verdict:

Vodka pasta makes one happy blue haired half-Italian.

… Did one of my roommates just steal some of my vodka? Tsaketa!

photo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
