keepmyhairblue

If you want to keep your blue hair, you're going to have to be a lot more hardcore than that.

Chickpea Smash

Off Topic: I liiiiiiiiiiiiiive!

My roommate went to San Fransisco this past weekend, and asked if I would like him to bring anything back. I told him that he knew me well enough to know when something was 100% Marina approved.

He brought me back this:

IMG_6169

… I may have cried.

This morning,  I resisted taking a large bite out of it while it sat innocently on the counter knowing that a sourdough bread such as this didn’t belong with my hippy wheat bread regiment of peanut butter and jelly- no, it deserved something hardier… something more lunch time appropriate with an ice coffee compliment. And that’s when I noticed the bowl of garbanzo beans (or, the more familiar term, chickpeas) I had left soaking overnight.

The answer was clear.

I began my desperate search for a food processor that my roommate swears he owns. However, he is also a good foot and a half taller than I am, so finding anything of his that is not on the lower shelves of our cabinets without him to be my arms is next to impossible.

So, what’s a girl with a bunch of freshly made chickpeas but no food processor to do?

It’s Smashing Time.

IMG_6172

You’ll Need (For two pieces of toast):

– 1 cup of cooked, drained chickpeas.

– Olive Oil (~2 tablespoons)

– Lemon juice (~ 1/2 of a lemon)

– Cumin (To taste)

– Black pepper (~2 teaspoons)

– Garlic powder (~2 teaspoons)

 

Directions:

– Place all ingredients into one medium sized bowl.

– Wield your weapon of choice.  I used a fork, but something like a potato masher will work as well.

– Smash those chickpeas into a pulp.

IMG_6179

– The consistency in the end will be like canned tuna fish. I know, seems wrong. But you’ll get over it.

– Taste test. If you want it spicier, add more cumin. Want it a bit smoother? Add some more olive oil. Really, the end result is up to your personal taste preference.

– Toast bread. (Or don’t. I won’t tell you what to do.)

– Drizzle a little bit of olive oil onto the toast. Add chickpea smash.

IMG_6182

Now that you have your chickpea smash on your favorite bread, how could life get any better?

IMG_6186

Ohhh. I decided to top my toast with some cherry tomatoes and fresh basil, but you can really do whatever you’d like. I would suggest some avocado and parmigiano reggiano cheese, or some caramelized onions if you’re feeling really fancy.

Notes:

For a smoother smash, remove the skins of the chickpeas first. You can either do this all individually by hand before you prepare them to get smashed, or place them in a bowl of water and swirl them around a bit with your hand as you rub them between your fingertips. The skins should start floating to the top, and from there you can skim them out and drain your naked chickpeas.

– Feel free to play with the spices to create your own unique smash. Don’t like cumin? Use a chili powder. Instead of garlic powder use fresh pressed garlic for an added POW! factor. Add some sea salt or fresh parsley for a totally different flavor. Have classy avocado oil on hand? You’re too fancy for this dish, get out. (But please send me the result, that sounds delicious.)

 

Verdict: I hate turning away from recipes because I don’t have the proper equipment or the time. Though the ways around such situations are a bit unorthodox, in this case the end result was exactly what I wanted. Since the smash is far thicker than hummus would be, it’s the perfect compliment for a hardy bread like sourdough, holding onto the bread in a (again, forgive me) meat-like manner. Plus, if you don’t want to go the bread route, you can just eat it straight out of the bowl. Can’t beat that.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 4, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
